Category: Uncategorised

Richell Prize 2017 Short List just announced

The short-list for the Richell Prize 2017 has just been announced. This is a prize for emerging writers, so it gathers quite a large number of entries. There were 579 entries this year and the judges managed to whittle that down to these five. We know you want to... read more

Organising your research for content and feature writing

By Valerie Khoo Would you like to save time and streamline your writing workflow? Do you want to ensure that your research is organised perfectly and easy to access/find? As a freelance feature and content writer, I often have to do a lot of research, conduct interviews, analyse reports... read more

COMP CLOSED: Tell the truth and WIN with Dendy Direct!

Thanks to our chums over at the TV/movie streaming service Dendy Direct, we have a bonus giveaway for you this week. One of the cool things that Dendy Direct do each month is feature a guest curator – who picks their faves to share with you. This month, Melina Marchetta... read more

Author Rajith Savanadasa is in “Ruins”

Hot off the press is the first novel from Australian author Rajith Savanadasa, Ruins. “A stunning debut novel from a fresh voice in Australian fiction, for fans of Zadie Smith and Rohinton Mistry,” says the press for this one. So we asked around and tracked him down to answer a... read more

Using crowdfunding with Unbound to get your novel published

Guest post by Claire Scobie This a story about how I’m using crowdfunding to get my novel The Pagoda Tree published in the UK. I’m using Unbound, a UK publishing model with a distinguished past. Once known as “subscription publishing”, in 1688 the first edition of Milton's... read more

Sydney meet-up with Natasha Lester

Be the first to find out about future Australian Writers' Centre meet-ups – sign up to our weekly newsletter! When and where is the meet-up? We're so excited to be hosting our meet-up on Tuesday 31 May 2016, 6.30-8pm At the  Australian Writers’ Centre head... read more

We chat with Nicole Hayes about her new book about AFL

So Nicole Hayes is going gangbusters right now – with her YA fiction novels being so well received right across Australia and beyond. But her latest book, From the Outer: Footy like you've never heard it, is a collection of stories written by a range of different people about the... read more

33 of the best Irish jokes

Happy St Patrick's Day!
In celebration of St Patrick’s Day this week, we’ve searched the interwebs high and low (okay, maybe not too low) for “turty-tree” of the best Irish jokes around. Luckily for us, Irish folk are more than happy to have a chuckle at themselves – so feel free to... read more

57 inspirational quotes to kick off 2016!

Here at the Australian Writers’ Centre, we love inspirational and motivational quotes – if you don’t believe us, check out our Instagram feed!  Once the domain of framed glass pictures on corporate office walls, such quotes are now more accessible than ever – thanks mainly to the rise of the internet... read more